MESA - a new linear accelerator in Mainz

Using the funding made available to the Cluster of Excellence "Precision Physics, Fundamental Interactions and Structure of Matter" (PRISMA+), Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz (JGU) is currently constructing a new electron accelerator on the Gutenberg Campus. The MESA accelerator and the key experiments will extend across several stories below ground including a new experimental hall provided by the new research building "Center for Fundamental Physics". Beam operation and data taking are foreseen to start in 2023.


Why a new particle accelerator?

In linear accelerators or "linacs" like MESA, electrically charged particles are accelerated with the help of alternating electromagnetic fields. In the various experimentation stations, these particles are made to collide with the atomic nuclei of the targets, from which they are scattered to detectors that measure their impulse or energy, as well as other physical parameters. This enables researchers to explore the structure of complex particles. It is planned to use the MESA accelerator to measure, among other things, the radius of the proton, something that has baffled over recent years. Furthermore, accelerators also make it possible to observe the short-lived particles that are sometimes generated by the collisions. Thus, for example, MESA will contribute to the search for dark photons. Once discovered, these could provide information on the structure of dark matter, which makes up a large proportion of our universe.

What is so special about MESA?

MESA is an ERL or energy recovery linac that will be highly efficient because of its very low energy consumption. The accelerator will be able to generate a beam of extremely high intensity that would otherwise require massive amounts of power so that a great number of particles can be focused on a tiny area of the target. It will thus be possible to produce a correspondingly high rate of particle collisions within a short period of time. This will aid in the hunt for very rare events such as the consequences of the decay of dark photons and of other, as yet, unidentified particles. In addition, the quality of the beam produced by MESA will be second to none; all electrons will be provided with the exact same kinetic energy of 155 MeV in the accelerator. These are optimal conditions for important precision experiments.

Research and experimentation

The MESA accelerator will offer ideal conditions in which scientists will be able to explore the limits of the Standard Model of particle physics. The Standard Model describes the properties and interactions of elementary particles - in other words, the smallest components of matter, such as electrons, neutrinos and quarks. The Standard Model provides explanations for many of the natural processes that occur in the universe - however, there is a multitude of questions that still remain to be answered, such as:

  • What does dark matter, which appears to constitute most of the universe, consist of?
  • Why is there so much more matter than antimatter in the universe?

Precision experiments at the MESA accelerator play a crucial role answering these questions. Several key experiments are currently under development, two of them, P2 and Magix, have already entered the advanced development phase.


P2

P2 is an experiment designed for the precise measurement of an important natural constant - the mixing angle of the electroweak interaction. Measuring the mixing angle is essential, because it will provide us with information on the fundamental properties of the interactions between elementary particles. In addition, if the weak mixing angle can be precisely measured, it provides insight into other aspects of physics, such as dark matter or hitherto unknown forces in nature. P2's target relative accuracy of 0.1% exceeds existing measurements in low energy processes by more than one order of magnitude. This increase in accuracy regarding low energy processes is especially important in the search for clues beyond the standard model and can thus supply new evidence beyond the standard model. The P2 experiment can measure the effects of new particles in a range of 50 MeV to 6.4 TeV and is complementary to the direct search for such particles at the LHC.


MAGIX

MAGIX is a multi-purpose spectrometer which allows the precise measurement of the proton's form factors at the lowest impulse transfer rates. This will contribute decisively to the clarification of the existing contradictions in the experimental determination of the proton radius (the so-called proton radius puzzle) and to the search for clues for dark matter. With its unique combination of a spectrometer system and a windowless gas target, MAGIX is an absolute pioneer in experimental design. The experiment takes place in the energy-recovering arm of MESA. A gas stream with supersonic speed is introduced into the beam, which then collides with a small fraction of the accelerated electrons. By means of two magnetic spectrometers, which can be rotated on a circular path around the collision point, it is possible to measure the angle and impulse of the deflected electrons.


BDX@MESA

The generation of dark matter particles and the detection of their decay signatures is the objective of the beam dump experiment BDX@MESA. The accelerator's beam dump is used as a target for the production of dark matter particles. In this case, these would be highly energized, so that the mass sensitivity should reach the MeV range, as long as the accelerator's full collision rate (MESA >1022 electrons at the target) is used. Mainz scientists are cooperating with the BDX collaboration, which analyzes beam dump experiments from electron accelerators worldwide, looking for the exclusion limits of dark matter. A future beam dump experiment with MESA will increase the sensitivity to light dark matter significantly. This experiment, which will be running parallel to the P2 data collection, profits from the extremely high intensity of the MESA accelerator.


Design and Operating Principles

MESA is a particular kind of particle accelerator known as an ERL, or energy recovery linac, a system that has only recently been developed. With this technology, the accelerated electron's energy can be won back and two thirds of the energy conventional accelerators require can be saved. MESA will be the first accelerator worldwide using this superconductive, energy-recovery technology for research purposes and can top the efficiency of existing accelerators many times over. In ERL mode, up to 1,035 electrons per second will hit one square centimeter of a target - even more than in the Large Hadron Collider (LHC) in Geneva. MESA's role as a pioneer means it will additionally serve as a testing environment for other research facilities, such as the planned LHeC (Large Hadron Electron Collider) in Geneva.


Two Modes of Operation

There are two modes of operation that will be used in the various experiments. In the extracted beam mode, which will be used primarily for the P2 experiment and the BDX@MESA, so-called spin-polarized electrons are directed at the target in the P2 experiment.

The use of the MESA accelerator's energy-recovery mode is the first chance worldwide to operate a high intensity ERL beam in combination with an internal gas target. This leads to extremely clean conditions for precision experiments with the multipurpose spectrometer MAGIX. Because of this, the electrons transfer their energy to the SRF system before they actually leave the system - the principle is basically similar to that of a car with a hybrid drive, in which regenerative brakes charge the main battery.


The Accelerator's Main Components

Particle Source

The electron beam is produced at the particle source and accelerated with 100,000 volts, which is equivalent to around half the speed of light. Using magnets, the beam is transported to the next station, the pre-accelerator, and fit to its requirements.


Pre-accelerator

The pre-accelerator is made up of four high frequency sectors. It accelerates the low energy electron beam to the MESA accelerator's injection energy by transmitting an impulse to the electrons when necessary.

Electromagnets

In order to be able to control the electron movement in the accelerator, a large number of electromagnets are needed. With their help, the electron beam is both concentrated and steered.


Superconducting Radio Frequency Cavities (the SRF System)

These are the backbone of the MESA accelerator and are used to supply the electrons with more and more energy by accelerating them in an electromagnetic field. In order to keep the acceleration efficient, the structures need to be cooled to 2 Kelvin (-271°C) using liquid helium.


Cryomodule

This is where the SRF system is cooled down. The design is similar to the design of a thermos flask: the GSRF-system swims in liquid helium inside an internal vessel, and a vacuum is created between this vessel and the external tank in order to prevent warmth from entering.

Newsfeed & Updates

New electron accelerator at Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz reaches first milestone

As the production of two superconducting accelerator modules for the future electron accelerator MESA ("Mainz Energy-Recovering Superconducting Accelerator") at the Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz (JGU) gets on its way, the MESA project launches into its next phase. MESA is based on a unique concept for recovering a part of the energy that is required for accelerating the electron beam.

Read more

Construction of the four superconducting resonance cavities

MESA has reached another milestone with the construction of the four superconducting resonance cavities by RI Research Instruments GmbH in Bergisch Gladbach, Germany. Prior to assembly in the cryomodule the cavities were tested in a liquid helium bath at DESY Hamburg end of 2016. They have surpassed the specifications by a wide margin. The cavities are presently assembled into the cryomodules and delivery of the complete system is planned for October 2017. The preparation for an an operational test under realistic conditions are pursued with high intensity.

Centerpieces for new accelerator delivered

This March and May the two cryomodules for the new MESA energy-recovering superconducting electron accelerator arrived at the JGU Campus. The centerpieces of the accelerator with a total value of almost EUR 4 million were transported to the main hall of the Helmholtz Institute Mainz (HIM) without incident. Testing can now begin in the specially equipped laboratory area at the HIM.

Read more

Cooldown of superconducting cavities for the MESA particle accelerator at PRISMA+

Cooling the superconducting cavities down to low temperatures using nitrogen (typically around 77 K) and liquid helium (down to 2 K) is an important step towards building the MESA particle accelerator at the PRISMA+ Cluster of Excellence.

Covering the superconducting cavities before starting the radio-frequency test

After successfil cooldown of the MESA cryomodules the next experiments will be the high power radio-frequency tests including the measurements of the quality factors of the used superconducting cavities. As x-ray and gamma-rays can occur in high field operation, prior to the planned activities the radiation shielding of the module using lead and concrete blocks had to be completed.

PRISMA+ Cluster of Excellence: Searching for new physics

We already know quite a bit about the smallest building blocks of matter and of the forces that shape the universe. However, we also know that there is a lot more to discover. Many questions are yet open, such as that of dark matter: what does it consist of, and what is dark energy? Why does the universe contain more matter than antimatter? And what role do the mysterious ghost particles - or neutrinos - play in the early universe?

PRISMA+: The MESA particle accelerator

Financed with funds from the Cluster of Excellence PRISMA+ - Precision Physics, Fundamental Interaction and Structure of Matter, Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz is constructing a new electron accelerator.

Teilchenbeschleuniger MESA

Die Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz (JGU) baut aus Fördermitteln des Exzellenzclusters "Precision Physics, Fundamental Interactions and Structure of Matter" (PRISMA+) einen neuen Elektronenbeschleuniger auf dem Gutenberg-Campus. MESA und die dazugehörigen Experimente erstrecken sich über mehrere unterirdische Stockwerke sowie eine neue Experimentierhalle im Rahmen des Forschungsbaus "Centrum für fundamentale Physik". Strahlbetrieb und Datennahme sind ab 2023 vorgesehen.


Wozu ein neuer Teilchenbeschleuniger?

In einem Linearbeschleuniger wie MESA werden elektrisch geladene Teilchen mithilfe von elektromagnetischen Wechselfeldern beschleunigt. Die Teilchen kollidieren im Experiment gezielt mit den Atomkernen von einem Hindernis (Target) und treffen dann auf Detektoren, die ihren Impuls bzw. ihre Energie und andere physikalische Größen messen. So können Forscher einerseits die Struktur von zusammengesetzten Teilchen aufklären: Am MESA-Beschleuniger wird unter anderem der Radius des Protons vermessen werden, der Forschern in den letzten Jahren Rätsel aufgegeben hat. Andererseits ermöglichen Beschleuniger die Suche nach kurzlebigen Teilchen, die manchmal bei den Kollisionen entstehen. So wird MESA beispielsweise zur Suche nach Dunklen Photonen beitragen. Diese könnten Hinweise zum Aufbau der Dunklen Materie geben, aus der wahrscheinlich ein großer Teil des Universums besteht.

Was macht MESA besonders?

Mit dem neuartigen energierückgewinnenden Betriebsmodus (engl. Energy Recovery Linac, ERL) wird MESA sehr energiesparend arbeiten. Dadurch erreicht der Beschleuniger eine extrem hohe Strahlintensität, die sonst nur mit einem immensen Energieaufwand machbar wäre: Sehr viele Teilchen werden auf eine winzige Fläche des Targets fokussiert. Es finden entsprechend viele Teilchenkollisionen in kurzer Zeit statt. Das ermöglicht die Suche nach sehr seltenen Ereignissen, wie beispielsweise dem Zerfall von Dunklen Photonen oder anderen, bisher unbekannten Teilchen. Außerdem wird MESA eine sehr hohe Strahlqualität aufweisen: Alle Elektronen erhalten im Beschleuniger genau die gleiche Bewegungsenergie von 155 MeV. Das sind optimale Voraussetzungen für wichtige Präzisionsexperimente.

Forschung und Experimente

Der MESA-Beschleuniger bietet optimale Voraussetzungen für neuartige Experimente, mit denen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler die Grenzen des Standardmodells der Teilchenphysik untersuchen wollen. Dieses Modell beschreibt die Eigenschaften und Wechselwirkungen von Elementarteilchen - also der kleinsten Bausteine der Materie wie beispielsweise Elektronen, Neutrinos und Quarks. Es liefert Erklärungen für zahlreiche Vorgänge in der Natur, jedoch gibt es noch eine Vielzahl an offenen Fragen, dazu zählen:

  • Aus was besteht die Dunkle Materie, die offenbar einen Großteil des Universums ausmacht?
  • Warum gibt es im Universum so viel mehr Materie als Antimaterie?

Die Präzisionsexperimente am MESA-Beschleuniger spielen eine Schlüsselrolle zur Beantwortung dieser und weiterer Fragen. Die entsprechende Hardware wird derzeit bei PRISMA+ entwickelt. Zwei der Experimente, P2 und MAGIX, befinden sich bereits in einem fortgeschrittenen Entwicklungsstadium.


Das P2 Experiment: der elektroschwache Mischungswinkel

P2 ist ein Experiment zur hochpräzisen Messung einer wichtigen Naturkonstante, nämlich des Mischungswinkels der elektroschwachen Vereinheitlichung. Seine Messung ist essentiell, weil er uns Auskunft über grundlegende Eigenschaften der Wechselwirkung zwischen den Elementarteilchen gibt. Zusätzlich ermöglicht seine Bestimmung Einsicht in physikalische Phänomene wie die Dunkle Materie oder andere neue Kräfte. Die bei P2 angestrebte relative Genauigkeit von 0,1% übertrifft existierende Messungen bei niedrigen Energien um mehr als eine Größenordnung. Diese Steigerung bei niedrigen Energien ist besonders für die Suche nach Hinweisen für Erweiterungen des Standardmodells von Belang und kann so neue Belege für Erweiterungen des Standardmodells liefern. Das P2-Experiment vermag die Effekte neuer Teilchen in einem Massenbereich von etwa 50 MeV bis 6,4 TeV aufzulösen und ist damit komplementär zu der direkten Suche nach derartigen Teilchen am LHC.


MAGIX: Das MESA Gas Interne Target Experiment

MAGIX ist ein Vielzweckspektrometer, welches die präzise Messung der Formfaktoren des Protons bei niedrigsten Impulsüberträgen ermöglicht. Dies wird entscheidend zur Aufklärung der bisherigen Widersprüche in der experimentellen Bestimmung des Protonradius (das so genannte Protonradius-Puzzle) und zur Suche nach Anhaltspunkten für die Dunkle Materie beitragen. Mit seiner einzigartigen Kombination aus einer Spektrometeranlage und einem fensterlosen Gas-Target nimmt MAGIX eine absolute Vorreiterrolle im experimentellen Design ein. Für das Experiment wird im energierückgewinnenden Arm von MESA ein Gasstrom mit überschallgeschwindigkeit in die Strahlführung eingeleitet, der mit einem kleinen Bruchteil der beschleunigten Elektronen kollidiert. Mit Hilfe der zwei Magnetspektrometer, die sich auf einer Kreisbahn um den Kollisionspunkt anordnen lassen, kann nun der Winkel und der Impuls der abgelenkten Elektronen bestimmt werden.


BDX@MESA: das Strahlfänger-Experiment

Die Erzeugung von Dunkle-Materie-Teilchen und die Detektion ihrer Zerfallssignaturen wird im Strahlfänger-Experiment BDX@MESA verfolgt. Hierbei benutzt man den Strahlfänger des Beschleunigers als Target zur Erzeugung der Dunkle-Materie-Teilchen. Diese wären in diesem Fall hochenergetisch, so dass eine Sensitivität für Massen bis hinab in den MeV-Bereich gegeben wäre, sofern die volle Kollisionsrate des Beschleunigers (bei MESA >10 hoch 22 Elektronen am Target) ausgenutzt wird. Mainzer Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler kooperieren mit der BDX-Kollaboration, die Strahlfänger-Experimente an verschiedenen Elektronenbeschleunigern weltweit im Hinblick auf Ausschlussgrenzen für dunkle Materie analysiert. Ein künftiges Strahlfänger-Experiment an MESA wird die Sensitivität auf leichte dunkle Materie signifikant erhöhen. Dieses Experiment, das parallel zur P2-Datennahme laufen wird, profitiert von der extrem hohen Intensität des MESA-Beschleunigers.


Bau- und Funktionsweise im überblick

MESA ist ein Teilchenbeschleuniger, der die erst vor wenigen Jahren entwickelte Energierückgewinnungs-Technologie (engl. Energy Recovery Linac, ERL) einsetzt. Mit dieser Technik kann die Energie der beschleunigten Elektronen wieder zurückgewonnen werden und damit zwei Drittel der benötigten Leistung konventioneller Beschleuniger eingespart werden. MESA wird weltweit der erste Beschleuniger sein, der diese supraleitende, energierückgewinnende Technik für Forschungszwecke einsetzt und kann so die Effizienz von existierenden Beschleunigern um ein Vielfaches übertreffen. Im ERL-Modus werden bis zu 10 hoch 35 Elektronen pro Sekunde auf einen Quadratzentimeter eines Targets treffen - sogar mehr als im Large Hadron Collider (LHC) am Forschungszentrum CERN in Genf. Durch seine Vorreiterrolle dient MESA zudem als Testumgebung für andere Forschungsanlagen, wie z.B. dem geplanten LHeC (Large Hadron Electron Collider) in Genf.


Zwei Betriebsarten

Die Konzeption des MESA-Beschleunigers sieht zwei Betriebsmodi vor, die als Grundlage für vollkommen unterschiedliche Klassen von Experimenten dienen. Der Betriebsmodus mit einem extrahierten Strahl ("extracted beam") ist hauptsächlich für das P2-Experiment und das BDX@MESA Experiment vorgesehen. Hierbei treffen sogenannte spinpolarisierte Elektronen auf das Target im P2-Experiment.

In dem energierückgewinnenden (engl. Energy Recovery Linac, ERL) Modus des MESA-Beschleunigers ergibt sich weltweit erstmals die Möglichkeit, einen hochintensiven ERL-Strahl in Kombination mit einem internen Gas-Target zu betreiben. Daraus resultieren extrem saubere Experimentierbedingungen für Präzisionsexperimente mit dem Vielzweckspektrometer MAGIX. Hierbei geben die Elektronen ihre Energie wieder an das SRF-System (Superconducting Radio Frequency System) ab, bevor sie das System verlassen - ähnlich wie bei einem Hybrid-Auto, bei dem die Bewegungsenergie durch das Bremsen in die Batterie zurückgeführt wird.


Die Hauptbestandteile des Beschleunigers

Teilchenquelle

An der Teilchenquelle wird der Elektronenstrahl erzeugt und mit 100.000 Volt beschleunigt. Die Elektronen bewegen sich dann mit etwa der Hälfte der Lichtgeschwindigkeit. Mit Hilfe von Magneten wird der Strahl zur nächsten Station, dem Vorbeschleuniger, transportiert und auf dessen Anforderungen angepasst.


Vorbeschleuniger

Vier Hochfrequenzsektionen bilden den Vorbeschleuniger. Er beschleunigt den niederenergetischen Elektronenstrahl auf die Einschussenergie des MESA-Beschleunigers, indem er den Elektronen immer wieder im entscheidenden Moment einen Impuls überträgt.

Elektromagnete

Um die Bewegung der Elektronen im Beschleuniger steuern zu können, wird eine große Anzahl Elektromagnete benötigt. Mit deren Hilfe wird der Elektronenstrahl zum einen gelenkt und zum anderen gebündelt.


Supraleitende Hohlraumresonatoren (SRF-System)

Diese bilden das Rückgrat des MESA-Beschleunigers und werden dazu verwendet, die Elektronen mit Energie zu versorgen, indem diese in einem elektromagnetischen Feld beschleunigt werden. Um die Beschleunigung effizient zu gestalten, müssen die Strukturen mit Hilfe von flüssigem Helium auf eine Temperatur von -271 °C abgekühlt werden.


Kryomodul

Hier wird das SRF-System stark abgekühlt. Der Aufbau ähnelt dem einer Thermoskanne: Es gibt ein inneres Gefäß, in dem das SRF-System im flüssigen Helium schwimmt und zwischen diesem Gefäß und dem Außentank wird ein Vakuum erzeugt, damit von außen möglichst keine Wärme eindringt.

Newsfeed & Updates

Erster Meilenstein für den neuen Elektronenbeschleuniger erreicht

Mit dem Startschuss für die Herstellung zweier supraleitender Beschleunigermodule für den zukünftigen Elektronenbeschleuniger geht das Projekt MESA in die nächste Phase. MESA basiert auf einem einzigartigen Konzept, das vorsieht einen Teil der Energie, die zur Beschleunigung des Elektronenstrahls benötigt wird, zurückzugewinnen.

Mehr lesen

Bau der supraleitenden Resonatoren

Mit dem Bau der vier supraleitenden Resonatoren durch die Herstellerfirma RI Research Instruments GmbH in Bergisch Gladbach hat MESA einen weiteren Meilenstein erreicht. Ende 2016 sind die Kavitäten bei DESY in einem Flüssig-Helium-Bad getestet worden und haben die Spezifikationen voll erfüllt. Die Endmontage der Kryomodule hat begonnen, der Auslieferngstermin des ersten Moduls war Ende Oktober 2017.

Herzstücke des Beschleunigers geliefert

Im März und im Mai erreichten die beiden Kryomodule für den neuen Elektronenbeschleuniger den Campus der JGU. Die Herzstücke des Beschleunigers im Wert von insgesamt knapp vier Millionen Euro wurden ohne Zwischenfälle in die Halle des Helmholtz-Instituts Mainz transportiert. Jetzt geht es ans Testen in den dafür speziell ausgerüsteten Laborbereich.

Mehr lesen

Das Abkühlen der supraleitenden Kavitäten am Teilchenbeschleuniger MESA

Zum Abkühlen der supraleitenden Kavitäten auf niedrige Temperaturen nutzen die Wissenschaftler der JGU flüssiges flüssigen Stickstoff (bis auf ca. 77 Kelvin) und flüssiges Helium (bis auf 2 Kelvin). Das Abkühlen ist ein wichtiger Schritt beim Bau des Teilchenbeschleunigers MESA am Exzellenzcluster PRISMA+.

Das Abdecken des Bunkers mit den supraleitenden Kavitäten vor dem Start der Hochfrequenztests

Nach dem erfolgreichen Abkühlen der MESA-Kryomodule werden als nächstes die hochfrequenten Radiofrequenztests durchgeführt einschließlich der Messungen der Qualitätsfaktoren der verwendeten supraleitenden Resonatoren. Da Röntgen- und Gammastrahlen im Hochfeldbetrieb auftreten können, müssen vor den geplanten Aktivitäten die Strahlenabschirmung des Moduls mit Blei- und Betonsteinen abgeschlossen werden.

Exzellenzcluster PRISMA+: Auf der Suche nach neuer Physik

Wir wissen bereits einiges über die kleinsten Bausteine der Materie und über die Kräfte, die im Kosmos wirken. Aber klar ist auch: Wir wissen längst nicht alles. Viele Fragen sind offen, darunter die nach der Dunklen Materie: Aus was besteht sie und was ist die geheimnisvolle Dunkle Energie? Warum gibt es mehr Materie als Antimaterie im Universum? Und welche Rolle spielen die Geisterteilchen - die Neutrinos - im frühen Universum?

PRISMA+: Der Teilchenbeschleuniger MESA

Die Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz (JGU) baut aus Fördermitteln des Exzellenzclusters "Precision Physics, Fundamental Interactions and Structure of Matter" (PRISMA+) einen neuen Elektronenbeschleuniger auf dem Gutenberg-Campus.